Post subject: New Here!
PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2016 7:21 pm 
Egg
Egg

Name: Em
Gave happy chirps: 0 time
Got happy chirps: 0 time
Hi, Everyone!

I'm new here, but I'm a long time lurker. I'm a doctoral student studying counseling psychology, so I can't promise I'll be on here a lot. This forum seems like a great, friendly place to ask questions and learn more, though!

Anyway, my little baby is named Zappy (okay, he's named Zapdos after the Pokemon). I got him two years ago (his birthday is May 11th), and he's my best friend. Oh, and he's a cockatiel! His greatest joy is to sit on my shoulder while I make my way through my reading list for the week or grade my giant stack of student papers.

Zap is a little bit of a problem child. Everything was great for the first six months I had him, but then he went through his first moult...then there were blood feathers. Soooo many blood feathers...and Zap broke them. Aside from that, I'm pretty sure his breeder clipped his wings when he was, like, 4 weeks old. When I don't clip his wings, he hits the ceiling, the walls, the windows. He has no control, and I think it's because he never really fledged? Anyway, I'll have to admit that inexperience had me bringing him to the vet whenever I saw blood, but I quickly learned the difference between a "non-serious" blood feather incident and when it became life threatening. I almost lost him (this was vet visit 5 in 3 months) when he broke 13 blood feathers at once during a particularly bad night fright. I couldn't stop the bleeding and cried the whole way to the emergency vet, sure he would die before I arrived. After that I was done. Zap sleeps in an aquarium now, and he loves it. More on that later, if anyone is interested. I'm convinced that the aquarium saved his life. Plus, he's on Avi-Calm.