Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 
 Post subject: Help! Egg #9 today!!
PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 6:50 pm 
Egg
Egg

Name: Rhonda
Gave happy chirps: 14 times
Got happy chirps: 1 time
First, I want to say hello, as I am a newbie. So excited to have found this site and forum!

I have a cockatiel pair who have decided to become parents. I'm very happy about it, but Rosey started laying an egg every 2 days, but is now laying an egg everyday.....#9 arrived today! I didn't think that cockatiels would lay this many eggs, and I am concerned about her calcium level decreasing. She eats NuPreen Natural pellets, has a mineral block, and a cuttlebone. So far, all is still well.

I decided to candle some of the eggs tonight and ONE of the eggs is developing already. There are blood vessels visible and it looks like maybe day 6? None of the oth re are showing signs of developenet yet. I think she's sitting on the, while she is still laying. It looks like I may have one hatch a week before the others...if any I'd them are fertile.

Is this going to be a problem? This is my first clutch and Ive been reading and researching, but I'm not sure what's going on here. Thanks in advance for any hel:)

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Help! Egg #9 today!!
PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:54 am 
Site Admin
Site Admin

Name: Carolyn
Gave happy chirps: 201 times
Got happy chirps: 725 times
Welcome to the group! I was going to ask if it was possible that you had two females instead of a true pair, but if one of the eggs is developing it's obvious that a male is present. Do you have any other hens who might be laying eggs in this nest? It's not normal for cockatiels to lay eggs every day. It happens occasionally, but I've never heard of a hen that was able to keep on doing it.