Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 
 Post subject: My parakeet Olivia
PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 7:54 am 
Finch
Finch

Name: Tohru
Gave happy chirps: 14 times
Got happy chirps: 4 times
Please tell me if I mess up my bird wings. I clip them,I did not hit a blood father. She is 5 months old is age ok. Please do not judge or yell at me. I already got yelled at by a person,telling me that I hack a photos when they are my bird on facebook. And She molten still.

This is Olivia wings before clipping

Here her right wing

Her left wing sorry about the flash,she would not stay still.

My mom going to help me fix it. Its my first time clipping wings. I watch video before clipping them

:feedback:

Post subject: Re: My parakeet Olivia
PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 8:17 am 
Site Admin
Site Admin

Name: Carolyn
Gave happy chirps: 201 times
Got happy chirps: 725 times
Some people are opposed to clipping and others are greatly in favor of it. On this forum everyone can have their own opinion but we don't judge people who have a different opinion, so people can disagree with you if they want to but they're not allowed to yell at you lol.

It's not the smoothest clip job that I've ever seen but there's nothing wrong with it. The most common problems with clipping are taking too many feathers or cutting the feathers too short, and you didn't do either one of those things. You cut the primary feathers but not the secondaries which is good. And you kept the primaries longer than the coverts (the row of feathers that sits on top of the primaries) which is also good. If you want to do a little trimming to give the cut feathers a smooth edge that's OK, but the length right now is fine so don't try to make them a lot shorter.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 8:37 am 
Finch
Finch

tielfan wrote: